It was all a dream. Literally. I always wanted to start a scholarship fund, but I didn’t feel like I had the resources or the know-how to bring my dream to fruition. Then something semi-amazing happened.

I’m having lunch with a friend from my Alma mater, Howard University, and we’re discussing our future goals and aspirations. Surprisingly, we both wanted to create a scholarship initiative for continuing minority college students in the D.C. metropolitan area.

Over a late lunch of chicken and biscuits (yes, chicken), we birthed The H.O.P.E Scholarship in  the fall of 2010.  A simple idea of empowering youth gave life to a thriving movement of H.O.P.E. — Helping Others Pursue Education.

Hope is more than just a word of encouragement. It’s an ideology that drives me to improve the people and the places around me.

It’s unfortunate, but people do not donate their time, skills or money in ways that edify and uplift historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs).

There are these myths that someone else will help minority students access and persist through college or  that we cannot make a difference in the life of someone else until we have “made it” ourselves. False. The time to foster relationships with our institutions and re-invest in the next generation is now.

Through grassroots fundraising, donations and partnerships H.O.P.E. will award continuing minority college students with scholarships.

Give H.O.P.E. Live H.O.P.E.

Jeffrey D. Chance
Director
The H.O.P.E. Scholarship

