Tags

, , , , , ,

easter 2AAs students do we sike ourselves out of the enjoyment of the classroom? Do we inflate the annoyance of exams and presentations at the cost of seizing the moment? Are we soaking in what the brilliant minds of which our teachers and fellow classmates have to share with us?

Occupying a wooden desk, listening to a lecture; today I was a student again. As I sat, I  felt a sense of purpose and a familiar energy began to rekindle. I feasted on the proverbial fruits of knowledge without the pressure to remember every word out of fear of what may be on the next test.

Sitting in on Professor Gasman’s class and listening to featured guests, Michael Sorrell, President of Paul Quinn College and  David Wilson, the new President of Morgan State University, reinvigorated my excitement for today’s HBCUs. I will admit the class sparked my interests and now I am considering applying for grad school sooner.

I realized I appreciated this class because I was enjoying the moment. I learned. I asked questions. I listened to the responses and that is the point of education. I would encourage students to engage their class, if you do, you will learn and if you are learning, instead of memorizing facts out of fear, you will excel and have a good time doing it.

To witness students still exploring their intellectual inquisitiveness  with vigor and to know that the future leaders of the world (and the global community) are being guided by dynamic presidents, felt good.

Live HOPE. Give HOPE.

Jeffrey Chance
Director
The H.O.P.E. Scholarship

