Tags

, , , , , , ,

Davis,_Laura_jpgThe H.O.P.E. Scholarship Initiative is pleased to announce Laura Davis as the winner of a new iPad through our H.O.P.E. Heals Book Scholarship.

H.O.P.E.’s fifth scholarship award is in partnership with The City Vault to recognize students in medical, dental, nursing, pharmacy and/or allied health programs, whose achievements are judged to be outstanding.

Here is an excerpt from Laura’s compelling essay.

“I spent several years on a roller coaster of uncertainty as I began a period of self-doubt, and contemplated career choices other than medicine.  I volunteered in under-served communities and after watching the amazing combination of distress and hope that these patients displayed, I recognized that being a physician was the perfect career for me.  I had found my passion and my calling in the field of medicine.

Inasmuch, I am excited about pursuing a career in rural family medicine, where I can have a greater impact on the biopsychosocial aspects of a person’s illnesses.  For many of my patients, I might be the only physician available for them.  I want to ensure that quality medical care is available to everyone, without regard to income or health status.  I look forward to being a physician that takes time to invest in my patients and their families, and in turn, positively affects the communities that they come from.”

We are excited to see the impact Laura is destined to make on the world of medicine.

Give HOPE. Live HOPE.

