Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Vienna Mbagaya_HOPE PicIn the past few years, I have been inspired and compelled to align my values with my vocation. In my studies and research I have learned a few truths: poor health outcomes that plague low-income communities are the result of structural inequalities and that my talents and passion for Public Health can lead to the solution. 2013 started with moments of uncertainty punctuated with moments of inexplicable excitement. I launched Vienna Nairobi, LLC, a for-purpose public health consulting firm that focuses on health disparities in global health and women’s health. I sought and created opportunities where I could steward my career toward more impactful opportunities.

I knew entrepreneurship was my next step but admittedly, it took me a long time to finally have a clear vision, and a clear ask. I spent six months revising business strategies, researching small business entrepreneurs and begging for their time, just so I could hear them speak. I saw myself in the periphery of their levels of success. In more honest conversations, many entrepreneurs recited horrific experiences they encountered and overcame in their journey. I identified with their contagious passion and impressionable early struggle.

In my journey, even when my resilience, work ethic and focus are often tested I welcome the struggle because of this, I am constantly rewarded with moments of clarity and awakened to the cohesiveness that is the human experience. What began as a leap of faith resulted in a daring venture outside of my comfort zone. I know that my calling is to dedicate my career to the pursuit of opportunities to serve others.

I understand there is only a perceived distance between who I am now as a new business owner, and who I aspire to be. To close this proverbial gap, I have surrounded myself with those who indulge me in this commitment to an impactful career. Indeed, life can be as simple as choosing between pursuing and holding on to your passion in the face of uncertainty and periods of rejection, versus remaining stagnant, without stretch or aspiration toward your purpose and highest potential.

Live H.O.P.E. Give H.O.P.E.

Vienna Mbagaya
Guest Contributor

About Vienna Mbagaya

Vienna is an Epidemiologist in Washington, DC, with a master’s degree from George Washington University School of Public health, and a bachelor’s degree in Biology from Boston College. She has worked for a number of organizations at international, federal, state and community levels in the areas of HIV/AIDS, malaria, social behavioral health and military psychological health. She is the founder and director at Vienna Nairobi, LLC, a public health consulting firm.

Follow Vienna:

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/viennam
Twitter: @viennanairobi
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ViennaNairobi

