Tags

, , , , , , , ,

favorite

A HOPE Scholar realizes that failure is not an option, because failure cannot exist in a vacuum of ambition, confidence, perseverance and determination. The H.O.P.E. Scholarship is proud to announce our 2015 fall scholarship winner. 

My name is Josee’ Muldrew, and I am a junior psychology major attending the esteemed Spelman College. Hard work, determination, and a passion for service have propelled my life thus far.

At the age of 10, I lost my mom to breast cancer and it has been one of the hardest things I have had to overcome. I believe my determination comes from seeing how strong my mother was during her battle with cancer. Observing her hard work and dedication, despite her pain, instilled a fire within me that until this day has not burned out. I know what it means to hold fast to my dreams and work diligently to make them a reality.

During my time at Spelman I have had the privilege of extensively studying theories in neuroscience and psychoactive drug usage. As I learned about agonistic drugs, such as cocaine and opiates, I finally gained some insight on the psychological dependence addicts experience. In the future, I plan to become a psychiatrist with a specialty in addiction to decrease the desire for the euphoria addicts often seek. My passion for alleviating the problem of mental illness is deeply rooted in my experience of being immersed in a community where many people suffer from substance abuse.

It is my plan to eventually expand my expertise and establish a private practice open to the city of Flint, Michigan. This mental health center will provide treatment, as well as, therapeutic sessions where community members can engage in various art forms. I believe the intersection between neuroscience and the arts is vital and can truly serve as an outlet to those in need. I am so blessed to have received the H.O.P.E. Scholarship, and I will continue to live out their motto of “helping others pursue an education.” I look forward to contributing my knowledge to an ever-expanding dialogue in psychology where I can demonstrate the intersection between translating science and transforming lives.

Live H.O.P.E. Give H.O.P.E.

